Due to the health pandemic, the 19th annual Bainbridge Youth Services Compassionate Action Celebration was not able to be held in person this year. But, thanks to nominations from individuals in our community, BYS still honored 14 young people in November for going above and beyond in helping others.

Certificates were sent to each teen thanking them for demonstrating a spirit of kindness and compassion and for outstanding service.

“BYS honors students through the Compassionate Action Celebration to remind everyone of the importance of giving back and being kind,” says BYS Counselor Sarah Allbee. “This celebration is a welcome bright spot in this dark time.”

The 2020 honorees are:

Easson Trick, Willa Sydor, Nicolas Wirz and Mercy James for collaborating to make a tiny house for a friend when he needed to quarantine earlier this year because of the coronavirus.

Minyoung Cho, Aidyn Goldsberry, Charlotte Gunn and Zoe Pellegrino for their dedication as BHS Link Crew officers.

Ava Rockefeller-Campbell, Mira Rockefeller Campbell and Cora Cole for their dedicated work with Kids in Concert.

Owen Rector, Thomas Murphy and Minyoung Cho for their hard work at Helpline House.

Sage Adreon for being an advocate to create safe areas for local youth to skate throughout Kitsap County.